National Electoral Commission (NEC)



OAU Drive, Tower Hill, Freetown

PRESS RELEASE

DECLARATION OF DATES FOR THE CONDUCT OF PARLIAMENTARY RE-RUN ELECTION IN CONSTITUENCY 110 IN THE WESTERN AREA RURAL DISTRICT; BYE ELECTIONS IN CONSTITUENCY 078 AND WARD 287 IN BO DISTRICT, WARD 348 IN MOYAMBA DISTRICT AND WARD 226 IN KARENE DISTRICT, SCHEDULED FOR SATURDAY 12TH DECEMBER, 2020

In exercise of the powers conferred on it by Section 33 of the Constitution of Sierra Leone, 1991(Act No. 6 of 1991); and pursuant to provisions of Section 39 of the said Constitution, Sections 69(1) and 70(1) of the Public Elections Act, 2012 (Act No. 4 of 2012); and Section 10 of the Local Government Act, 2004 (Act No. 1 of 2004), the National Electoral Commission (NEC) makes the following proclamation:

- Saturday,12th December, 2020 is hereby declared as the day for the conduct of Parliamentary re-run election in Constituency 110 in the Western Area Rural District; bye elections in Constituency 078 and Ward 287 n Bo District, Ward 348 in Moyamba District and Ward 226 in Karene District.
- 2. The Commission has developed Corona Virus 2019 (Covid-19) prevention guideline that has been approved by the National Covid-19 Response Centre (NACOVERC) for the conduct of electoral activities nationwide.
- 3. Nominations of Candidates for the said Parliamentary and Local Council bye election shall take place from 9th 10th Nov, 2020 at the respective NEC District Offices in Bo, Moyamba and Kerene Districts. Constituency 110 re-run election will not go through candidate's nomination exercises.
- The deadline for Political Parties to submit the list of their endorsed candidates for the bye-elections to the National Electoral Commission (NEC) is 5th November, 2020; as per Sections 61 and 62 of the Public Elections Act, 2012 (Act No. 4 of 2012).
- 5. In accordance with Statutory Instrument No. 13 of 2012, the candidates' nomination fee for the said Parliamentary bye election is **TEN MILLION LEONES**

(Le.10,000,000.00) and Local Council by election is ONE MILLION LEONES (1,000,000.00) per candidate, payable to the respective District Returning Officers in Bo, Moyamba and Karene Districts.

- 6. Qualifications and disqualifications for Member of Parliament are found in Sections 75 and 76 of the Constitution of Sierra Leone, 1991 (Act No. 6 of 1991) and qualifications and disqualifications of Councillors are found in Section 6 of the aforementioned Local Government Act, 2004; and any other relevant legislation.
- 7. Other details for the Nomination of candidates, conduct of the Parliamentary rerun election and other Parliamentary and Local Council bye elections shall be published by the National Electoral Commission in due course.

Dated this 20th day of October, 2020. LECTORAL COM

Signed

Chairman

National Returning Office